Contact: Douglas Rice (585) 256-3336

May 22, 2002
ARTWalk makes it official

Rochester, NY - At a landmark meeting on Thursday, May 16, 2002, ARTWalk voted in its first Board of Trustees. A group of twenty-four community leaders and citizens gathered at Writers and Books on University Avenue to officially adopt the board members and bylaws for the first interactive outdoor museum in Rochester and the first of its kind anywhere in the country. The museum was chartered by the New York Board of Regents on February 12, 2002. “This is a milestone not only for ARTWalk, but also for our city,” says Doug Rice, Executive Director of ARTWalk. “We are building a cultural attraction that is like no other by connecting cultural institutions and other destinations with a pathway of artistic experiences.”

ARTWalk now operates as an independent non-profit museum, which acquires and maintains art and holds community-wide events. ARTWalk has already launched these activities in the Neighborhood of the Arts on University Avenue, but the organization is now able to run independently under the trustees’ direction and management. So far, the museum has acquired eight benches selected through an open call, twelve sidewalk imprints selected through an open call. And recently in conjunction with the American Society of Civil Engineers held an open call for a sculpture that will be installed in the fall. The selected 14-foot-tall steel sculpture by Juan Carlos Caballero-Perez is called Balance. All thirty-five of the models submitted in the recent competition will be on view at High Falls Gallery beginning Friday, May 24 reception from 7-9 pm.

ARTWalk is also in the midst of the Mosaic Lamp Project in which artists and citizens are working together to create street light pole mosaics each Sunday through the end of June. ARTWalk has held many successful events including last fall’s Dances on the Avenue. Next up will be the Grand Opening of ARTWalk on Sunday, September 22, 2002. All ARTWalk events are open to the public.

The Board of Trustees for ARTWalk:
Douglas Rice, Executive Director; McKenzie Keenan, Chair; Jennifer Hutchins, Vice-Chair; Mary Wells, Treasurer; Paulette Davis, Secretary; Richard Rosen, Sarah Lentini, Ruth Manning, Anthony Bannon, Deirdre Cunningham, Ida M. Dickman, Joseph Flaherty, Danielle Fraenkel, Dr. Grant Holcomb, Christine Knoblauch, Paul Knoblauch, Paul D. Kramer, Joni Monroe, Thomas Warfield, Faruk Kaiyum, Moira S. Lemperle, Kevin Stam, Steven Stanton, Thomas R. Anderson

For more information, visit or call 585-234-6670.